All models

Used Hyundai Ioniq 5: battery health, range and replacement cost

Battery wear, range, winter loss, replacement cost and warranty, with a source for every figure. Data checked 2026-10-17.

Check a listing with the deal checker

Things to check

In the US

Long Range RWD (77.4 kWh)

Model years 2022

Battery type
NMCsourcedWikipedia: Hyundai Ioniq 5 (infobox; supplier SK On) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Wikipedia: Hyundai Ioniq 5 (infobox; supplier SK On)

Quote: NMC lithium-ion

Usable battery
74 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Hyundai IONIQ 5 Long Range 2WD (2021); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=b58bc94d-d929-ad71-d95b-08b877bf76ba usable_battery_size=74

Official range (EPA, new)
303 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 44923: 2022 Hyundai Ioniq 5 RWD (Long Range)

Record: id=44923 range=303

Efficiency (EPA combined)
30 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 44923: 2022 Hyundai Ioniq 5 RWD (Long Range)

Record: id=44923 combE=30

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab (2025 study, 21 make-models) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab 2025 fleet average across 21 make-models (not model-specific)

How we got this: No Ioniq 5-specific large-fleet degradation figure found; Geotab 2025 fleet average used.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 268 mi and 233 mi of EPA rangeGeotab (2025 study, 21 make-models) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab 2025 fleet average across 21 make-models (not model-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
36% lessestimateCAA winter test, -7 to -15°C, compared with Natural Resources Canada's own testCAA winter range test, via FIA (2025-03-05), -7 to -15 C; table row (262 km driven vs 410 km NRCan official); model year of test car not stated · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai Ioniq 5 (trim and year of test car not stated), CAA test

Quote: Hyundai IONIQ 5 11 262 km 410 km -36%

How we got this: One CAA test car of unstated trim, year and pack; applied to this variant.

Battery replacement cost
$39,160sourcedmaker's list price; labour included: no; 2026 priceHyundaiPartsDeal (genuine Hyundai part 37501-GI301, Battery System Assy) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai list price (MSRP) for a new battery system assembly 37501-GI301, listed as fitting 2022-2024 US Ioniq 5. Part only, no fitting labour. The page does not state pack size or drivetrain; a dealer catalogue Codex read (Cloudflare-blocked for us) says 77.4 kWh, built 2022-04-29 to 2022-07-01. A later 77.4 kWh part, 37501-GI351 (from 2022-07-01), was reported at MSRP $29,327.38 (not verified by us). Confirm the part by VIN.

Quote: MSRP: $ 39160.07

Battery warranty
10 years or 100,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers capacity below 70%; passes to the next ownerHyundai USA Warranty Coverage · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai USA's warranty table identifies identical coverage for original and subsequent owners and links the 2022 warranty handbook; the page also states a 70% capacity floor.

Quote: That’s why we cover our batteries and system components for our hybrid, plug-in hybrid, and all-electric vehicles with a 10- year/100,000-mile warranty. While all electric-car batteries will experience degradation over time, ours will not degrade more than 70 percent of the original capacity during the warranty period.

How we got this: Original quote is a table row whose cells were joined with ' | ' - not page text. Row 'Hybrid/Electric Battery 10 Years/100,000 Miles' exists; paragraph gives the 70% (worded 'will not degrade more than 70 percent'). Current page with no MY scope for EV battery, so estimate.

Long Range AWD (77.4 kWh)

Model years 2022

Battery type
NMCsourcedWikipedia: Hyundai Ioniq 5 (infobox; supplier SK On) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Wikipedia: Hyundai Ioniq 5 (infobox; supplier SK On)

Quote: NMC lithium-ion

Usable battery
74 kWhestimateOpen EV Data (https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data Hyundai IONIQ 5 Long Range 2WD (2021) — not the US AWD

How we got this: No Open EV entry for the US 77.4 kWh Long Range AWD; the Long Range 2WD entry (74 kWh usable, same pack family) is used.

Official range (EPA, new)
256 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 44922: 2022 Hyundai Ioniq 5 AWD (Long Range)

Record: id=44922 range=256

Efficiency (EPA combined)
34.3 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 44922: 2022 Hyundai Ioniq 5 AWD (Long Range)

Record: id=44922 combE=34.3285

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab (2025 study, 21 make-models) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab 2025 fleet average across 21 make-models (not model-specific)

How we got this: No Ioniq 5-specific large-fleet degradation figure found; Geotab 2025 fleet average used.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 227 mi and 197 mi of EPA rangeGeotab (2025 study, 21 make-models) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab 2025 fleet average across 21 make-models (not model-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
36% lessestimateCAA winter test, -7 to -15°C, compared with Natural Resources Canada's own testCAA winter range test, via FIA (2025-03-05), -7 to -15 C; table row (262 km driven vs 410 km NRCan official); model year of test car not stated · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai Ioniq 5 (trim and year of test car not stated), CAA test

Quote: Hyundai IONIQ 5 11 262 km 410 km -36%

How we got this: One CAA test car of unstated trim, year and pack; applied to this variant.

Battery replacement cost
$39,160sourcedmaker's list price; labour included: no; 2026 priceHyundaiPartsDeal (genuine Hyundai part 37501-GI301, Battery System Assy) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai list price (MSRP) for a new battery system assembly 37501-GI301, listed as fitting 2022-2024 US Ioniq 5. Part only, no fitting labour. The page does not state pack size or drivetrain; a dealer catalogue Codex read (Cloudflare-blocked for us) says 77.4 kWh, built 2022-04-29 to 2022-07-01. A later 77.4 kWh part, 37501-GI351 (from 2022-07-01), was reported at MSRP $29,327.38 (not verified by us). Confirm the part by VIN.

Quote: MSRP: $ 39160.07

Battery warranty
10 years or 100,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers capacity below 70%; passes to the next ownerHyundai USA Warranty Coverage · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai USA hybrid/electric battery coverage for MY2022, including IONIQ 5; its table gives 10 years/100,000 miles to original and subsequent owners.

Quote: That’s why we cover our batteries and system components for our hybrid, plug-in hybrid, and all-electric vehicles with a 10- year/100,000-mile warranty. While all electric-car batteries will experience degradation over time, ours will not degrade more than 70 percent of the original capacity during the warranty period.

How we got this: Original quote is a table row whose cells were joined with ' | ' - not page text. Row 'Hybrid/Electric Battery 10 Years/100,000 Miles' exists; paragraph gives the 70% (worded 'will not degrade more than 70 percent'). Current page with no MY scope for EV battery, so estimate.

In the UK

Long Range RWD (72.6 kWh)

Model years 2021–2022

Battery type
NMCsourcedWikipedia: Hyundai Ioniq 5 (infobox; supplier SK On) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Wikipedia: Hyundai Ioniq 5 (infobox; supplier SK On)

Quote: NMC lithium-ion

Usable battery
72.6 kWhestimateOpen EV Data (https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai UK stated pack size for 2021-22 Ioniq 5 Long Range (72.6 kWh), not a measured usable figure

How we got this: Hyundai UK sells this car as 72.6 kWh (73 kWh); Open EV rows for it disagree (2WD 74, AWD 72.6), so the stated pack size is used. Usable capacity may be slightly lower.

Official range (WLTP, new)
300 misourcedZapmap, Hyundai Ioniq 5 first drive (UK 73 kWh RWD, launch-era figure; some UK outlets list 298 mi) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Zapmap, Hyundai Ioniq 5 first drive (UK 73 kWh RWD, launch-era figure; some UK outlets list 298 mi)

Quote: capable of covering 300 miles on a charge according to WLTP tests.

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab (2025 study, 21 make-models) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab 2025 fleet average across 21 make-models (not model-specific)

How we got this: No Ioniq 5-specific large-fleet degradation figure found; Geotab 2025 fleet average used.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 266 mi and 231 mi of WLTP rangeGeotab (2025 study, 21 make-models) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab 2025 fleet average across 21 make-models (not model-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
36% lessestimateCAA winter test, -7 to -15°C, compared with Natural Resources Canada's own testCAA winter range test, via FIA (2025-03-05), -7 to -15 C; table row (262 km driven vs 410 km NRCan official); model year of test car not stated · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai Ioniq 5 (trim and year of test car not stated), CAA test

Quote: Hyundai IONIQ 5 11 262 km 410 km -36%

How we got this: One CAA test car of unstated trim, year and pack; applied to this variant.

Battery replacement cost
£9,500estimatescaled from a similar battery; labour included: unknown; 2026 priceBumper blog, 'How Much Does An Electric Car Battery Cost? (2026)', dated 2026-05-21 (Ioniq 6 figure) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Ioniq 6 OEM pack, UK, all pack sizes, used as proxy for Ioniq 5 72.6/77.4 kWh; not an Ioniq 5 price.

How we got this: Extrapolated from Bumper's UK figure for the Hyundai Ioniq 6 ('The Hyundai Ioniq 6 sits in the mid-to-premium EV segment, with battery replacement costs typically ranging from £7,000 to £12,000.'), a sibling car on the same Hyundai E-GMP platform whose long-range version uses the same 77.4 kWh pack family; midpoint £9,500. Bumper gives no Ioniq 5 figure, and its own summary table lists the Ioniq 6 at £8,000 to £10,000 instead. No Ioniq 5-specific UK pound figure from a dealer, UK motoring press or UK EV specialist was found.

Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers defects; no capacity level stated; passes to the next ownerHyundai UK Warranty Terms and Conditions · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

UK Hyundai models first produced after 2020, including the 2021-2022 IONIQ 5. The document says 'minimum capacity' but does not state a percentage.

Quote: The high voltage (lithium-ion polymer) battery warranty covers a minimum capacity for... a period of 8 years or 100,000 miles (for Kona EV 20MY and all new production models first produced after 2020)

Long Range AWD (72.6 kWh)

Model years 2021–2022

Battery type
NMCsourcedWikipedia: Hyundai Ioniq 5 (infobox; supplier SK On) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Wikipedia: Hyundai Ioniq 5 (infobox; supplier SK On)

Quote: NMC lithium-ion

Usable battery
72.6 kWhestimateOpen EV Data (https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai UK stated pack size for 2021-22 Ioniq 5 Long Range (72.6 kWh), not a measured usable figure

How we got this: Hyundai UK sells this car as 72.6 kWh (73 kWh); Open EV rows for it disagree (2WD 74, AWD 72.6), so the stated pack size is used. Usable capacity may be slightly lower.

Official range (WLTP, new)
287 misourcedZapmap, Hyundai Ioniq 5 first drive (UK 73 kWh AWD, launch-era official rating) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Zapmap, Hyundai Ioniq 5 first drive (UK 73 kWh AWD, launch-era official rating)

Quote: The model reviewed was the 73 kWh AWD, which is rated at 287 miles,

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab (2025 study, 21 make-models) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab 2025 fleet average across 21 make-models (not model-specific)

How we got this: No Ioniq 5-specific large-fleet degradation figure found; Geotab 2025 fleet average used.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 254 mi and 221 mi of WLTP rangeGeotab (2025 study, 21 make-models) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab 2025 fleet average across 21 make-models (not model-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
36% lessestimateCAA winter test, -7 to -15°C, compared with Natural Resources Canada's own testCAA winter range test, via FIA (2025-03-05), -7 to -15 C; table row (262 km driven vs 410 km NRCan official); model year of test car not stated · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai Ioniq 5 (trim and year of test car not stated), CAA test

Quote: Hyundai IONIQ 5 11 262 km 410 km -36%

How we got this: One CAA test car of unstated trim, year and pack; applied to this variant.

Battery replacement cost
£9,500estimatescaled from a similar battery; labour included: unknown; 2026 priceBumper blog, 'How Much Does An Electric Car Battery Cost? (2026)', dated 2026-05-21 (Ioniq 6 figure) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Ioniq 6 OEM pack, UK, used as proxy for Ioniq 5 72.6/77.4 kWh; not an Ioniq 5 price.

How we got this: Same as ioniq5-lr-rwd-2022-uk: extrapolated from Bumper's UK Ioniq 6 range ('...with battery replacement costs typically ranging from £7,000 to £12,000.'), same E-GMP platform and long-range pack family; midpoint £9,500. AWD uses the same pack as RWD. No Ioniq 5-specific UK pound figure was found.

Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers defects; no capacity level stated; passes to the next ownerHyundai UK Warranty Terms and Conditions · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

UK Hyundai models first produced after 2020, including the 2021-2022 IONIQ 5. The percentage is not stated.

Quote: The high voltage (lithium-ion polymer) battery warranty covers a minimum capacity for... a period of 8 years or 100,000 miles (for Kona EV 20MY and all new production models first produced after 2020)

All sources for this page

"Estimate" means we worked the figure out or borrowed it from a similar car; open "What the source covers" to see how. Expected health is a straight-line estimate from fleet data, not a test of any one car.