All models

Used Hyundai Kona Electric: battery health, range and replacement cost

Battery wear, range, winter loss, replacement cost and warranty, with a source for every figure. Data checked 2026-10-17.

Check a listing with the deal checker

Things to check

In the US

64 kWh

Model years 2019–2023

Battery type
NMCsourcedElectric Revs (2018, details supplied by Hyundai) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Electric Revs (2018, details supplied by Hyundai)

Quote: The cells in the Kona Electric are made by LG and use a cathode chemistry known as NMC 622

Usable battery
64 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Hyundai Kona Electric 64 kWh (2021); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=d405e843-fe80-4de9-ac30-bbaeb2f44e42 usable_battery_size=64

Official range (EPA, new)
258 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 43747: 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric; this 2021 rating is shown for 2019-2023, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=43747 range=258

Efficiency (EPA combined)
27 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 43747: 2021 Hyundai Kona Electric; this 2021 rating is shown for 2019-2023, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=43747 combE=27

Battery wear
1% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityInteresting Engineering (4 Sep 2026) reporting AVILOO's 500,000-test battery health study · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai Kona EV, median of AVILOO tests at 150,000 km (pack not stated; most are 64 kWh)

Quote: At 150,000 km (93,000 miles), the Mercedes-Benz EQA comes out on top among the 20 models … The Hyundai Kona EV and Volvo XC40 Recharge round out the top five, with both retaining more than 92% of their median battery health at the same mileage.

How we got this: AVILOO's report on 500,000+ battery tests (2022-2026) puts the Kona's median health above 92% at 150,000 km. At about 19,000 km (12,000 miles) a year, 150,000 km is about 7.5-8 years, so under 8% loss is about 1%/yr. A smaller Carla/AVILOO Sweden sample (97.18% at 100,000 km, 64 kWh) suggests less, but likely includes packs replaced new under the 2020-2021 recall, so the larger and more cautious figure is used. Neither source gives health by age, so the yearly rate depends on the assumed mileage.

Expected health
95% after 5 years, 90% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 245 mi and 232 mi of EPA rangeInteresting Engineering (4 Sep 2026) reporting AVILOO's 500,000-test battery health study · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai Kona EV, median of AVILOO tests at 150,000 km (pack not stated; most are 64 kWh)

Quote: At 150,000 km (93,000 miles), the Mercedes-Benz EQA comes out on top among the 20 models … The Hyundai Kona EV and Volvo XC40 Recharge round out the top five, with both retaining more than 92% of their median battery health at the same mileage.

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 1% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
9% lesssourcedNAF El Prix winter test 2020, Norway, compared with the WLTP ratingGreen Car Reports on NAF El Prix winter test (single 2020 test; 64 kWh pre-facelift, vs WLTP; best of 20 cars, flattering end of range) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

2020 Kona Electric 64 kWh (single car, best of 20)

Quote: The best-performing electric car in the NAF group test was the Hyundai Kona Electric, which came just 9% short of its WLTP-rated range.

Battery replacement cost
$11,000estimaterecall average; labour included: yes; 2021 priceGreen Car Reports (2021) recall cost · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai global Kona pack-replacement recall: ~$900M / ~82,000 vehicles

How we got this: GCR (2021): the global ~82,000-vehicle pack-replacement recall was expected to cost $900 million, i.e. roughly $11,000 per vehicle (pack + labour, manufacturer cost). No published Hyundai retail price for the 64 kWh pack found; third-party guides range $6,000-$12,000+.

Battery warranty
10 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers capacity below 70%; passes to the next ownerHyundai Lifetime Hybrid/Electric Battery Warranty bulletin · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

US MY2020-2023 Kona Electric. MY2019 is an exception: lifetime battery coverage for the original owner, but 10 years/100,000 miles for subsequent owners.

Quote: Starting with 2020MY vehicles: the hybrid/electric battery warranty coverage period for both original and subsequent owners is 10 years from the date of original retail delivery or date of first use, or 100,000 miles, whichever occurs first.

In the UK

64 kWh

Model years 2019–2023

Battery type
NMCsourcedElectric Revs (2018, details supplied by Hyundai) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Electric Revs (2018, details supplied by Hyundai)

Quote: The cells in the Kona Electric are made by LG and use a cathode chemistry known as NMC 622

Usable battery
64 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Hyundai Kona Electric 64 kWh (2021); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=d405e843-fe80-4de9-ac30-bbaeb2f44e42 usable_battery_size=64

Official range (WLTP, new)
300 misourcedHyundai UK press release (2021 New KONA Electric) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai UK press release (2021 New KONA Electric)

Quote: or the 64kWh with 204PS and a range of 300 miles

Battery wear
1% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityInteresting Engineering (4 Sep 2026) reporting AVILOO's 500,000-test battery health study · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai Kona EV, median of AVILOO tests at 150,000 km (pack not stated; most are 64 kWh)

Quote: At 150,000 km (93,000 miles), the Mercedes-Benz EQA comes out on top among the 20 models … The Hyundai Kona EV and Volvo XC40 Recharge round out the top five, with both retaining more than 92% of their median battery health at the same mileage.

How we got this: AVILOO's report on 500,000+ battery tests (2022-2026) puts the Kona's median health above 92% at 150,000 km. At about 19,000 km (12,000 miles) a year, 150,000 km is about 7.5-8 years, so under 8% loss is about 1%/yr. A smaller Carla/AVILOO Sweden sample (97.18% at 100,000 km, 64 kWh) suggests less, but likely includes packs replaced new under the 2020-2021 recall, so the larger and more cautious figure is used. Neither source gives health by age, so the yearly rate depends on the assumed mileage.

Expected health
95% after 5 years, 90% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 285 mi and 270 mi of WLTP rangeInteresting Engineering (4 Sep 2026) reporting AVILOO's 500,000-test battery health study · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai Kona EV, median of AVILOO tests at 150,000 km (pack not stated; most are 64 kWh)

Quote: At 150,000 km (93,000 miles), the Mercedes-Benz EQA comes out on top among the 20 models … The Hyundai Kona EV and Volvo XC40 Recharge round out the top five, with both retaining more than 92% of their median battery health at the same mileage.

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 1% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
9% lesssourcedNAF El Prix winter test 2020, Norway, compared with the WLTP ratingGreen Car Reports on NAF El Prix winter test (single 2020 test; 64 kWh pre-facelift, vs WLTP; best of 20 cars, flattering end of range) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

2020 Kona Electric 64 kWh (single car, best of 20)

Quote: The best-performing electric car in the NAF group test was the Hyundai Kona Electric, which came just 9% short of its WLTP-rated range.

Battery replacement cost
£8,000estimateconverted from another currency; labour included: yes; 2021 priceDerived from Green Car Reports (2021) recall cost · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

US recall-program average converted to GBP (not a UK quote)

How we got this: No UK dealer quote found (a BookMyGarage UK page could not be fetched to verify). Converted the ~$11,000 per-vehicle recall cost at ~0.75 GBP/USD and rounded (~£8,000). Treat as order-of-magnitude.

Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers defects; no capacity level stated; passes to the next ownerHyundai UK Warranty Terms and Conditions · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

UK Kona Electric. Pre-20MY cars receive 8 years/125,000 miles; 20MY onward receive 8 years/100,000 miles. No numeric capacity percentage appears in the terms.

Quote: The high voltage (lithium-ion polymer) battery warranty covers a minimum capacity for a period of 8 years or 125,000 miles (for existing production models first produced prior to 2020) and a period of 8 years or 100,000 miles (for Kona EV 20MY and all new production models first produced after 2020)

39 kWh

Model years 2018–2023

Battery type
NMCestimateElectric Revs (2018) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Electric Revs (2018)

How we got this: Electric Revs states Kona Electric cells are LG NMC 622; the article describes the 64 kWh pack. The 39.2 kWh pack is the same LG pouch-cell family with fewer cells; no 39 kWh-specific chemistry statement found, so NMC is inferred.

Usable battery
39.2 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Hyundai Kona Electric 39 kWh (2021); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=7a8b44ba-f0d4-4b51-930f-074a66e0cbac usable_battery_size=39.2

Official range (WLTP, new)
189 misourcedHyundai UK press release (2021 New KONA Electric) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai UK press release (2021 New KONA Electric)

Quote: a 39.2kWh with 136PS and a range of 189 miles

Battery wear
1% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityInteresting Engineering (4 Sep 2026) reporting AVILOO's 500,000-test battery health study · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai Kona EV, median of AVILOO tests at 150,000 km (pack not stated; most are 64 kWh); not measured for the 39 kWh pack

Quote: At 150,000 km (93,000 miles), the Mercedes-Benz EQA comes out on top among the 20 models … The Hyundai Kona EV and Volvo XC40 Recharge round out the top five, with both retaining more than 92% of their median battery health at the same mileage.

How we got this: AVILOO's report on 500,000+ battery tests (2022-2026) puts the Kona's median health above 92% at 150,000 km. At about 19,000 km (12,000 miles) a year, 150,000 km is about 7.5-8 years, so under 8% loss is about 1%/yr. A smaller Carla/AVILOO Sweden sample (97.18% at 100,000 km, 64 kWh) suggests less, but likely includes packs replaced new under the 2020-2021 recall, so the larger and more cautious figure is used. Neither source gives health by age, so the yearly rate depends on the assumed mileage. No study measures the 39 kWh pack; the 64 kWh figure is used. A smaller pack does more charge cycles per mile, so its wear may be higher.

Expected health
95% after 5 years, 90% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 180 mi and 170 mi of WLTP rangeInteresting Engineering (4 Sep 2026) reporting AVILOO's 500,000-test battery health study · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Hyundai Kona EV, median of AVILOO tests at 150,000 km (pack not stated; most are 64 kWh); not measured for the 39 kWh pack

Quote: At 150,000 km (93,000 miles), the Mercedes-Benz EQA comes out on top among the 20 models … The Hyundai Kona EV and Volvo XC40 Recharge round out the top five, with both retaining more than 92% of their median battery health at the same mileage.

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 1% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
9% lessestimateNAF El Prix winter test 2020, Norway, compared with the WLTP ratingGreen Car Reports on NAF El Prix winter test (single 2020 test; 64 kWh pre-facelift, vs WLTP; best of 20 cars, flattering end of range) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

2020 Kona Electric 64 kWh (applied to 39 kWh)

Quote: The best-performing electric car in the NAF group test was the Hyundai Kona Electric, which came just 9% short of its WLTP-rated range.

How we got this: Only the 64 kWh car was tested (9% short of WLTP, best of 20 cars); applied to the 39 kWh car.

Battery replacement cost
£7,783estimaterecall average; labour included: yes; 2021 priceCity A.M. (24 Feb 2021) recall cost, converted at Bank of England XUDLUSS spot rate · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Average per-vehicle cost of Hyundai's 2021 global battery-system replacement recall (mostly 2018–2020 Kona Electric, 39/64 kWh), converted to GBP.

How we got this: City A.M., 24 Feb 2021: Hyundai would replace battery systems in 82,000 EVs; 'The move will cost around $900m and mostly concerns the Kona EV'. $900m / 82,000 vehicles = about $10,976 per vehicle, divided by 1.4103 USD per GBP (Bank of England XUDLUSS daily spot rate, 24 Feb 2021, https://www.bankofengland.co.uk/boeapps/database/_iadb-fromshowcolumns.asp?csv.x=yes&Datefrom=20/Feb/2021&Dateto=28/Feb/2021&SeriesCodes=XUDLUSS&CSVF=TN&UsingCodes=Y&VPD=Y&VFD=N) = about GBP 7,783. Caveats: a manufacturer's average recall provision, not a consumer price; it mixes 39 kWh and 64 kWh Konas plus some Ioniq EVs and buses, and it includes labour and logistics at OEM internal cost. Treat as order of magnitude only. No UK pound replacement price for a 39 kWh Kona pack from a dealer, UK press or UK specialist was found.

Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers defects; no capacity level stated; passes to the next ownerHyundai UK Warranty Terms and Conditions · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

UK Kona Electric regardless of battery size. Pre-20MY cars receive 125,000 miles; 20MY onward receive 100,000 miles.

Quote: The high voltage (lithium-ion polymer) battery warranty covers a minimum capacity for a period of 8 years or 125,000 miles (for existing production models first produced prior to 2020) and a period of 8 years or 100,000 miles (for Kona EV 20MY and all new production models first produced after 2020)

All sources for this page

"Estimate" means we worked the figure out or borrowed it from a similar car; open "What the source covers" to see how. Expected health is a straight-line estimate from fleet data, not a test of any one car.