All models

Used Volkswagen ID.4: battery health, range and replacement cost

Battery wear, range, winter loss, replacement cost and warranty, with a source for every figure. Data checked 2026-10-17.

Check a listing with the deal checker

Things to check

In the US

Pro (77 kWh)

Model years 2022–2023

Battery type
NMCsourcedAutomobile Propre (VW Group 77 kWh pack comparison) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Automobile Propre (VW Group 77 kWh pack comparison)

Quote: La batterie LG Chem est composée de cellules-poches de chimie NMC712. CATL et SK On ont de leur côté fait le choix de cellules prismatiques, avec une chimie NMC822

Usable battery
77 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Volkswagen ID.4 Pro Performance (2021); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=2d7c8848-6488-43a3-b900-e28548c243ce usable_battery_size=77

Official range (EPA, new)
275 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 45259: 2022 Volkswagen ID.4 Pro; this 2022 rating is shown for 2022-2023, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=45259 range=275

Efficiency (EPA combined)
32 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 45259: 2022 Volkswagen ID.4 Pro; this 2022 rating is shown for 2022-2023, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=45259 combE=32

Battery wear
1.5% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityElectrifying.com reporting Aviloo data · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

VW ID.4 77 kWh, Aviloo data via Electrifying.com

How we got this: Aviloo median SoH for the 77 kWh ID.4: 95.3% at 50,000 km and 90.6% at 150,000 km. From new (100%) to 150,000 km that is 9.4% / 15 = ~0.63% per 10,000 km (between the 50k and 150k points it is only ~0.47%). At ~15,000 km/yr that implies ~0.9%/yr from mileage alone; calendar ageing pushes it higher, so set midway toward the Geotab 2025 fleet average of 2.3%/yr (https://www.geotab.com/blog/ev-battery-health/). No Recurrent/Geotab per-model rate found.

Expected health
93% after 5 years, 85% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 254 mi and 234 mi of EPA rangeElectrifying.com reporting Aviloo data · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

VW ID.4 77 kWh, Aviloo data via Electrifying.com

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 1.5% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
15% lesssourcedNAF/Motor El Prix winter test, Norway, compared with the WLTP ratingAutoria (Norwegian VW dealer) summarising NAF/Motor El Prix winter test, RWD ID.4 vs WLTP (Norwegian text) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

VW ID.4 RWD (77 kWh), dealer summary of NAF test

Quote: Ifølge deres tester avviker rekkevidden med om lag 15 prosent fra WLTP* på vinteren for ID.4 med bakhjulstrekk

Battery replacement cost
$27,000sourcedmaker's list price; labour included: unknown; 2024 priceDigital Insurance / Arizent (Feb 2024), citing Find My Electric — pack MSRP; labour not stated · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

VW ID.4 82 kWh gross (77 kWh usable) pack MSRP

Quote: The manufacturer's suggested retail price (MSRP) for the ID.4 battery costs $27,000. Its 82 kWh pack is larger than the average EV battery

Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers capacity below 70%; transfer not statedVolkswagen USA Carefree Coverage · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

US MY2020-and-newer Volkswagen EVs, including MY2022-2023 ID.4 Pro.

Quote: Carefree Coverage is included on all MY20 and newer vehicles... The high-voltage battery is warranted for 8 years or 100,000 miles, whichever occurs first, for defects in material and workmanship and for a battery net capacity of at least 70%.

In the UK

Pro (77 kWh)

Model years 2021–2023

Battery type
NMCsourcedAutomobile Propre (VW Group 77 kWh pack comparison) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Automobile Propre (VW Group 77 kWh pack comparison)

Quote: La batterie LG Chem est composée de cellules-poches de chimie NMC712. CATL et SK On ont de leur côté fait le choix de cellules prismatiques, avec une chimie NMC822

Usable battery
77 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Volkswagen ID.4 Pro Performance (2021); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=2d7c8848-6488-43a3-b900-e28548c243ce usable_battery_size=77

Official range (WLTP, new)
322 misourcedZapmap ID.4 Pro Performance review (quoting official WLTP; best-case trim) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Zapmap ID.4 Pro Performance review (quoting official WLTP; best-case trim)

Quote: VW ID.4 Pro Performance – 150 kW – 77 kWh – 322 miles

Battery wear
1.5% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityElectrifying.com reporting Aviloo data · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

VW ID.4 77 kWh, Aviloo data via Electrifying.com

How we got this: Aviloo median SoH for the 77 kWh ID.4: 95.3% at 50,000 km and 90.6% at 150,000 km. From new (100%) to 150,000 km that is 9.4% / 15 = ~0.63% per 10,000 km (between the 50k and 150k points it is only ~0.47%). At ~15,000 km/yr that implies ~0.9%/yr from mileage alone; calendar ageing pushes it higher, so set midway toward the Geotab 2025 fleet average of 2.3%/yr (https://www.geotab.com/blog/ev-battery-health/). No Recurrent/Geotab per-model rate found.

Expected health
93% after 5 years, 85% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 298 mi and 274 mi of WLTP rangeElectrifying.com reporting Aviloo data · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

VW ID.4 77 kWh, Aviloo data via Electrifying.com

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 1.5% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
15% lesssourcedNAF/Motor El Prix winter test, Norway, compared with the WLTP ratingAutoria (Norwegian VW dealer) summarising NAF/Motor El Prix winter test, RWD ID.4 vs WLTP (Norwegian text) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

VW ID.4 RWD (77 kWh), dealer summary of NAF test

Quote: Ifølge deres tester avviker rekkevidden med om lag 15 prosent fra WLTP* på vinteren for ID.4 med bakhjulstrekk

Battery replacement cost
£20,000estimateconverted from another currency; labour included: unknown; 2024 priceDerived from Digital Insurance / Arizent (2024) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

US 82 kWh pack MSRP converted to GBP (not a UK quote)

How we got this: No UK dealer quote for a full ID.4 pack found. Converted the US $27,000 pack MSRP (82 kWh gross / 77 kWh usable) at ~0.75 GBP/USD and rounded (~£20,000), pack only. Module-level repair is far cheaper (see notes).

Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers defects; no capacity level stated; transfer not statedVolkswagen UK ID.4 April 2021 Brochure and Battery Terms (copy checked at www.volkswagen.co.uk; original https://www.volkswagen.co.uk/idhub/content/dam/onehub_pkw/importers/gb/downloads/used-cars/id-4/id4-brochure-pricelist-april-21.pdf) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Contemporaneous April 2021 UK ID.4 brochure. Volkswagen UK's battery terms additionally state repair or replacement when measured capacity is below 70% during the 8-year/100,000-mile period.

Quote: 1. A guarantee for eight years or 100,000 miles/ 160,000km (whichever is soonest), on all material or manufacturing defects.

Pure (52 kWh)

Model years 2021–2023

Battery type
NMCestimateEV Brief (2021) / Automobile Propre · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EV Brief (2021) / Automobile Propre

How we got this: UK ID.4 77 kWh packs use LG Chem NCM 712 pouch cells (EV Brief: 'featuring the company's NCM 712 battery cells'); all MEB suppliers cited (LG, CATL, SK On) use NMC. The 52 kWh Pure pack is a smaller MEB pack; no Pure-specific chemistry statement found, so NMC is inferred.

Usable battery
52 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Volkswagen ID.4 Pure (2021); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=6f2d19dd-f577-63ae-bc61-05fb5bef13f1 usable_battery_size=52

Official range (WLTP, new)
213 misourcedZapmap ID.4 Pro Performance review (configuration list, official WLTP) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Zapmap ID.4 Pro Performance review (configuration list, official WLTP)

Quote: VW ID.4 Pure – 109 kW – 52 kWh – 213 miles

Battery wear
1.5% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityElectrifying.com reporting Aviloo data · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

VW ID.4 77 kWh, Aviloo data (applied to 52 kWh)

How we got this: Aviloo median SoH for the 77 kWh ID.4: 95.3% at 50,000 km and 90.6% at 150,000 km. From new (100%) to 150,000 km that is 9.4% / 15 = ~0.63% per 10,000 km (between the 50k and 150k points it is only ~0.47%). At ~15,000 km/yr that implies ~0.9%/yr from mileage alone; calendar ageing pushes it higher, so set midway toward the Geotab 2025 fleet average of 2.3%/yr (https://www.geotab.com/blog/ev-battery-health/). No Recurrent/Geotab per-model rate found. Applied to the 52 kWh Pure; no 52 kWh data.

Expected health
93% after 5 years, 85% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 197 mi and 181 mi of WLTP rangeElectrifying.com reporting Aviloo data · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

VW ID.4 77 kWh, Aviloo data (applied to 52 kWh)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 1.5% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
15% lessestimateNAF/Motor El Prix winter test, Norway, compared with the WLTP ratingAutoria (Norwegian VW dealer) summarising NAF/Motor El Prix winter test, RWD ID.4 vs WLTP (Norwegian text) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

VW ID.4 RWD 77 kWh (applied to 52 kWh)

Quote: Ifølge deres tester avviker rekkevidden med om lag 15 prosent fra WLTP* på vinteren for ID.4 med bakhjulstrekk

How we got this: Only the 77 kWh RWD result (~15% below WLTP) was found; applied to the 52 kWh Pure.

Battery replacement cost
£10,000estimategarage guide; labour included: unknown; 2026 priceBumper blog, 'How Much Does An Electric Car Battery Cost? (2026)', dated 2026-05-21 · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Section headed 'Volkswagen ID.4 / ID.5' ('OEM battery cost: £7,000 to £13,000'); UK, OEM, NOT specific to the 52 kWh pack — the range spans all ID pack sizes, so a 52 kWh Pure is likely toward the lower end. Value is the range midpoint. The same page's summary table lists 'Volkswagen ID.5' at £8,000 to £10,000. No method stated; whether labour is included is ambiguous ('depending on ... labour complexity').

Quote: The Volkswagen ID.5 and related ID models generally fall into the mid-range replacement category, with battery costs typically between £7,000 and £13,000 depending on pack size and labour complexity.

How we got this: Midpoint of the price range quoted by the source (range in evidence_for). Section headed 'Volkswagen ID.4 / ID.5' ('OEM battery cost: £7,000 to £13,000'); UK, OEM, NOT specific to the 52 kWh pack — the range spans all ID pack sizes, so a 52 kWh Pure is likely toward the lower end. Value is the range midpoint. The same page's summary table lists 'Volkswagen ID.5' at £8,000 to £10,000. No method stated; whether labour is included is ambiguous ('depending on ... labour complexity').

Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers defects; no capacity level stated; transfer not statedVolkswagen UK ID.4 April 2021 Brochure and Battery Terms (copy checked at www.volkswagen.co.uk; original https://www.volkswagen.co.uk/idhub/content/dam/onehub_pkw/importers/gb/downloads/used-cars/id-4/id4-brochure-pricelist-april-21.pdf) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Contemporaneous UK ID.4 brochure covering the launch-period ID.4 range, including Pure. Volkswagen UK's battery terms set the degradation floor at 70%.

Quote: 1. A guarantee for eight years or 100,000 miles/ 160,000km (whichever is soonest), on all material or manufacturing defects.

All sources for this page

"Estimate" means we worked the figure out or borrowed it from a similar car; open "What the source covers" to see how. Expected health is a straight-line estimate from fleet data, not a test of any one car.